Just Bucket It

image

Every bucket list has a story.

In my case, it’s a boring story. I was looking for good places to study on Google Maps and Yelp. A few hours later, I was looking for interesting places (read: anything but a study spot) to visit on Google Maps and Yelp. The next day in class, I started a list in my notebook of places I remembered finding interesting. But at one point, the list became more about experiences to have  than places to go.

Here’s the entire list before, split between places to go and experiences.

Places to go:

  • Paperback Exchanges (used book store near my house) -DONE
  • Place that serves afternoon tea
  • Various coffeeshops
  • Escape the Room
  • Memorial Park
  • More food trucks
  • Trader Joe’s
  • Origami Houston Meeting
  • Toastmasters meeting
  • Slam poetry or a Moth event
  • Someplace to get a job
  • A paper store
  • Cooking/painting class
  • Dance studio

Experiences:

  • Participate in a public yarn bombing
  • Give away books and craft supplies
  • Sit in a class for a period that’s not mine + write a blog post
  • Interview an adult (preferably a teacher)
  • Sell origami
  • Run a 5k/10k/half marathon
  • Write 1000 blog posts
  • Record something personal at a local radio station
  • Confess to a former crush
  • Apologize to someone I was mean to
  • Apologize to my parents
  • Write and release a 20,000+ word ebook/manifesto
  • Spend a whole day (9-5) outside the house by myself
  • Have a post reach 5,000+ views
  • Eat lunch with someone new
  • Write 20 thank you notes–beyond yearbook messages
  • Have a meaningful conversation with a stranger during a train/bus/plane/taxi ride
  • Find the perfect notebook/pen combination (on hold until I get through all 9 of my small notebooks)
  • Wear something I made regularly
  • Play volleyball again
  • Teach a class (anything)
  • Get my writing published in print

Most bucket lists I found online involved some sort of travel. After some thought, I decided to keep all foreign places off, at least now. Until I can comprehend the depth and breadth of my own city, I don’t think I can get the full experience of another place. College may be another story.

Anything I missed?

Leave a Reply

