22 Thoughts on Upgrading Smartphones

We swapped phones in my family a few days ago, and I finally got a smartphone that doesn’t run Android 2.3.

This is me trying to be cool and trying to take a picture of my phone with my phone. Sadly, my webcam sucks.

Thoughts:

  1. I can actually use this phone for other things besides calling? And not just in absolute emergencies?
  2. It runs a version of Android that’s actually somewhat up to date?
  3. WHY IS IT SO FAST?
  4. WHY SO MANY OPTIONS?
  5. Does this mean I actually have enough memory to DOWNLOAD APPS?
  6. Why are there three pages of preinstalled apps?
  7. OH MY GOSH A FRONT FACING CAMERA. I CAN FINALLY TAKE SELFIES.
  8. Time to start hiding apps. I need to get this down to one page.
  9. One page. You’re at two right now.
  10. What is file sharing? Do I need it? Isn’t that just called like, email?
  11. Why are there so many redundant apps:
    • Email/Gmail
    • Camera/Camcorder
    • Browser/Chrome
    • Hangouts/Hangouts Dialer (I got Google Voice until I realized that I merged that with Hangouts as well)
    • Gallery/Photos
    • Google/Voice Search
  12. Do I ACTUALLY use the weather app/alarm clock/mobile hotspot/the other 40 preinstalled apps? (Answer: no. BUT  I STILL NEED TO HAVE THEM.)
  13. Screw it. I’m hiding them all. If I need them, I can always unhide them.
  14. If the phone/camera/message/Chrome/etc. icons are on my homescreen, I don’t need to actually have them listed right? YES.
  15. Oh shoot I still need to download some non-preinstalled apps. Time to hide more apps.
  16. What apps do I absolutely need?
    • Anki
    • WordPress
    • Google Keep
    • Flashlight
    • Pandora
    • OneNote
  17. Don’t get Facebook. Don’t get Facebook. I don’t need any more distractions on my phone.
  18. WHOAAAA. NONE OF THESE APPS CRASH.
  19. I have 45 apps hidden. NBD.
  20. I have LTE on this phone. Too bad I’ll never be able to use it.
  21. Wait, I have airplane mode on, wifi off, bluetooth off, gps off, data off, all to save power. Is this even a phone?
  22. Why am I thinking so much about this?

I’m a bit terrified that this phone will overwhelm me and take over my life. Hence all the hiding apps. Hence simplifying everything.

 

Leave a Reply

