Blogging Existential Crisis: NaBloPoMo Day 30

SNOWFLAKES ARE BACK ON WORDPRESS. MY LIFE IS COMPLETE. 1

This is how I’m feeling:

(no but actually, I’ve had this song on repeat the entire day.)

In other news, this is my second time experiencing the last day of NaBloPoMo. And just like this day last year, I’m feeling remarkably unaccomplished. [post from last year] I wasn’t nearly as invested in it this year, and the only thing I really accomplished was publish a good 8 posts that had been sitting in my drafts folder.

And go through a blogging existential crisis.

I was looking through some successful blogs, and I realized that blogs like theirs had been my original inspiration for starting my blog. And while they had gone about growing their following and joining the blogging community, I had crawled into the hole of claiming that this was a “personal” blog and spending hundreds, if not thousands, of hours meekly writing my own posts.

I suddenly wished that I had one of those successful blogs with a loyal followership and tons of comments on every post and a personalized site with pretty graphics and regular features and professional looking photography and everything. But I just hadn’t spent the time doing that. I ignored most of the advice I heard early on about blogging, namely to have an ideal audience in mind and write about a few topics consistently,  because  1) I didn’t have a particular area of expertise, and 2) that sounded like too much work. Why couldn’t I just write about whatever came to mind?

Now, nearly 2.5 years and 150 posts later,I still don’t have a good answer for 1), but  I can pull out a couple common themes throughout my posts, namely, math. school, and like, high school nerd life. I don’t know. If I have the time, I may give this blog a major revamp and start treating it more seriously. Or I’ll just wallow in blogging-existential-crisis pain. We’ll see.

In the meantime…

Potentially interesting statistics from NaBloPoMo 2014:

Posts: 30

Word count (not including today) (including titles, tags, etc.): 12,975

Difference in word counts from NaBloPoMo 2013 and NaBloPoMo 2014: 3648 (whoops)

Most popular post: Not something I wrote during NaBloPoMo.

Second most popular post: Ditto (hint: it was because of all the sophomores in WHAP)

Most popular post written this month: If you’ve never failed a test, you’re studying too much 11.05.2014

Least popular post written this month: Recommended Reading, 11.19.2014

Most popular day: 11.25.2014 (thanks again, sophomores)

Least popular day: 11.20.2014

Countries reached: 53

Most obscure country: Guernsey

Total ad revenue: $0.00

Goodbye NaBloPoMo, and happy December.



  1. Last year, I published my last post for NaBloPoMo past midnight with a sigh of relief and randomly went to another blog. I noticed the snowflakes falling on their site and became intensely jealous. I spent the next hour figuring out how to get them on my blog, and the next week, I obsessively changed my theme and background, trying to figure out how to make the snowflakes show up the best. This year, they came automatically. (thankfully) 
One thought on “Blogging Existential Crisis: NaBloPoMo Day 30

Leave a Reply

