Elitism

I don’t deny that the best groups of people I’ve worked with have had people of comparable intelligence to me. I don’t deny that I like being with people who are similar to me (hence all the Asians I surround myself with.)

However, in this search for more challenging and stimulating environments, I feel like I’m trying to dig in too deep within a specific demographic and not reaching out. (Again, that the most fundamental human flaw is our inability to relate with one another.)

Bellaire is known for being a diverse school, but instead of bringing people of different backgrounds together, it tends to give everyone their own niche to burrow into and never come out.  (Also how I like to describe the tumblr community.) Yes, there’s exceptions, but we’re far from being a perfectly integrated school.

Back when I was in elementary school, we only had one class with 22 students in every grade up to 3rd grade. We all knew each other (a virtual impossibility nowadays) and were ridiculously close. Sure we all had our friend groups, but it was impossible not to talk to anyone.

In 4th grade, our class doubled, and 22 new people came. In hindsight, 44 people wasn’t a lot for a grade, but it was a big deal to me. It was weird seeing people and realizing that I had gone the entire year without talking to them. From then on, the class size kept growing exponentially until, well, Bellaire.

Part of getting stuff done is being willing to get past the bureaucracy and elitism, which is why politics is both a nuisance yet super important at the same time.

It’s hard to decide whether I really want to climb the social/corporate ladder or if I’m even capable of doing so. One of the only things I remember from reading Class Rules was that the people in the lower social classes were the ones who embraced life the most– they had acknowledged their place in society and were perfectly content with it. There were no social subtleties to deal with, and they had their own communities to live within.

…I really need to stop writing inconclusive posts.

3 thoughts on “Elitism

  1. Yes. This is exactly how elementary school at Rogers felt. When the class doubled, there became enough people to actually effectively form cliques within our grade level. Everyone (of the original class) went from close-knit to mostly detached except for a few friends. Then middle school just exacerbated this effect by increasing the classes to five.

    Like

Leave a Reply

