Student Congress Updates

Ever since the Student Congress launched last month, we’ve had to move quickly from the glamour of starting a new organization and start working towards getting people to notice and respect us.

Right now, I want to get social media accounts started and regularly updated. I know it’s asking for a lot of regular commitment on behalf of the committee members, but I don’t want to be the one doing all the work. Our website also needs a bit of work. You would think that with all the informal writing I do on here that writing for the site would be easy. However, every post I write ends up stilted and a lot more formal than I would like. New respect for DoSomething.org.

Once again, I’m learning that getting people to care is hard. Even with a cause like education that everyone can relate to and even with a great turnout at the opening session, it’s hard to retain people who don’t have a personal connection  and get people to care, not because of a college app or to impress someone, not because they want an officer position in the future, but because they actually want to make a difference. (A bit of extrinsic motivation is necessary, but it shouldn’t overpower the intrinsic motivation.)

I’m modeling many aspects of the committee off Givology since they’re both mostly run online and consist of a close knit team. (at least that’s what I’m aiming for.) In some aspects, it’s working. In others, it’s not. I can already feel the judgement from outsiders. On the surface, it seems like we’ve done nothing. Why do I even bother trying. Am I even the person to head the committee?

A relevant quote from the one and only Augustus Waters comes to mind:

“When you’re as charming and physically attractive as myself, it’s easy enough to win over people you meet. But getting strangers to love you… now, that’s the trick.”

I definitely can’t claim the former. I have trouble keeping eye contact, I have a tendency to talk in a high pitched voice in a speed way too fast, my hair is in various stages of balding and always a mess. I don’t have any natural charisma and I fidget a lot. Plus, I’m Asian and a girl. What am I even trying to do.

I don’t have any answers right now, so I’m going to do the only thing I know how to do: Keep my head down and keep working harder.

(If you’re interested in joining the Outreach Committee or any other committee, sign up here. Also, we’re planning on showing up to the next board meeting on November 13th.)

2 thoughts on “Student Congress Updates

Leave a Reply

