Thoughts on Writing…and a tangent

Spending Thanksgiving reading news articles and short stories (AND BLACK FRIDAY ADS) doesn’t really place me in the mood for writing blog posts. And not only because Black Friday shopping is fun. (“fun”)

After reading anything that’s particularly informative or thought-provoking, in my case this and this, I generally feel better about myself for becoming for more “educated,” but paradoxically, a tinge of inferiority comes over me as well. The best articles often times are accessible to everyone, and I feel like I could have thought up those same ideas. Why didn’t I though? Why did I have to be the receiver of that information instead of the creator?

However, then I try writing my own long and insightful posts, and I’m left at a complete lack of words. Not only do I not have 2 weeks like Paul Graham to polish each piece, which is relatively trivial, I don’t actually have the keen awareness of the world necessary to formalize such ideas online. There goes my self-inflated ego.

All in all, this makes my blog seem like a farce. Who am I even to write online when there are obviously better writers who can provide so much more value per article than a measly high schooler ranting on life? The best explanation I can come up with is that I’m in a different realm of the blogosphere and that I’m still learning how to write (and think) properly. All of this is cold comfort though, and sooner or later I’m going to have to start writing more….rigorous? posts instead of spewing out life.

But for now…MY THANKSGIVING.

Our family has a slightly weird way of celebrating Thanksgiving. Yes, we buy a turkey, but we start roasting it in the morning so we can start eating it during lunch instead of waiting for dinner. Also, it’s not all decorated and stuffed and dressed up; my parents just add green onion, ginger, and salt before placing it in the over, and we treat it as any other food, not as a centerpiece. Dinner isn’t particularly glamorous other than the addition of a new meat, and beside, who needs food when there’s…

BLACK FRIDAY the day after. Literally the first thing I ask my parents upon waking up is “Where’s the newspaper?” so I can start looking at the ads. Not that I want to buy anything in particular, but it’s fun looking through ads and seeing products catch my eye, along with the fine print saying “min 3 per store” indicating a fight to the death at that store.

[If you’re wondering, here’s some recent footage from Walmart]

My question is how you can ever feel good about using some materialistic object that you had to fight over. No matter how good the deal is monetarily, there’s a lot of soul-selling involved. Not to mention the subpar-quality of Black Friday goods. However,  nothing can match the buzz from being caught up in the crowds of primitive humans scrambling for good deals.

Stores opening on Thanksgiving night ruin the experience for me though. I miss waking up early on Friday morning and walking into bright-lit stores half-asleep and half-hungry with no particular aim other than becoming lost in the masses, since half of the fun of Black Friday is the environment. The deals aren’t particularly important, although it’s nice to save money on a good buy.

To be honest though, I don’t place that much significance on Thanksgiving. Perhaps it’s a family/cultural thing, but I’ve always seen it more as no school+turkey+ pre-Black Friday day, not necessarily a day of thanks. I mean, what obligation do we really have to celebrate one feast some Pilgrims had nearly 400 years ago? Yes, it’s important to be grateful for what we do have, but I believe that we can’t truly realize something’s true value until it’s gone. In terms of people and basic needs, most of us have never had these things missing. (The Pilgrims did though.) Simply listing what I’m thankful for won’t make me a better person, and the most thanks I can give is based off the vague notion that I should be at least trying not to take things for granted.

Ending on that note, Happy Thanksgiving, and goodnight.

Leave a Reply

