Am I Ok?

My ultimate reality check question, the one I whisper to myself as I speed through life.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s this: We all want everything to be okay. We don’t even wish so much for fantastic or marvelous or outstanding. We will happily settle for okay, because most of the time, okay is enough

Every Day, David Levithan

Since it’s two weeks before Thanksgiving break, I feel like the teachers are going to have a fun time piling extra work onto us. The fact that we have a shortened 6 week cycle isn’t helping either. And then finals right afterwards.

Sometimes I wonder what adults think about us. Scrambling to get good grades at the risk of sleep deprivation, living through the awkwardness of high school where everyone is secretly in love with someone else, constantly being pressured into maintaining a happy and “normal” appearance, and not knowing where to go in life other than the path others have laid out in front of us. Can this lifestyle possibly be healthy?

I would love to write more on this, but I just don’t feel like I have the time. Byefornow.

3 thoughts on “Am I Ok?

Leave a Reply

