Irreparably Broken

When adults say, “Teenagers think they are invincible” with that sly, stupid smile on their faces, they don’t know how right they are. We need never be hopeless, because we can never be irreparably broken. We think that we are invincible because we are. We cannot be born, and we cannot die. Like all energy, we can only change shapes and sizes and manifestations. They forget that when they get old. They get scared of losing and failing. But that part of us greater than the sum of our parts cannot begin and cannot end, and so it cannot fail.

Looking for Alaska, John Green

Nearly three years ago, these were the words that stunned me into a state of utter awe for two straight days and started my worship of John Green .  Looking at life as a remorphing of energy instead of a series of irreversible events was too fascinating a concept for my 7th grade brain to process. Nevertheless, it was enough to make Alaska my favorite book, which still holds true today.

Nowadays, I see this quote as the guiding theme in my life whenever my life feels as if it’s falling apart. Although I (hopefully) will never mess up in life nearly to the degree that Alaska did,  each problem I have still weighs me down, and dealing with it is a huge mental ordeal. Brute acceptance along with a willingness to move on seems to be be the ideal disposal method, yet something called emotions makes this much easier said than done. Our brains refuse to forget the memories that bring the most pain, instead leaving them to haunt us at the most unconvenient times.

However, I can’t imagine looking back on life a few years from now and not remembering any kind of suffering. What fun is telling people that you lived life without the richness and depth of struggling? Where’s the process of self-growth and overcoming obstacles?

In the end, the hazy promise of a better life story keeps me going throughout life. Whenever I’m stuck in a awkwardly awkward situation, whenever I’m sure the world (or at least one person in it) hates me, whenever I want to shrivel up and detach myself from reality,  the comfort of knowing that I understand another facet of human nature and that all pain is temporary allows me to carry on with life, or at least go to sleep with the hope that the next day will be better.

…This was totally published before midnight… on the west coast. 

One thought on “Irreparably Broken

  1. Pingback: 2014 Resolutions | afanofideas

Leave a Reply

