To everyone who thinks I’m too “formal” on here…

LOL, what? I try to write like I speak in real life, or at least an idealized form of speaking where I’m not super-awkward and where I have the chance to edit everything I say.

However, you’ve told me that I write like a 50 year-old on here and that I’m too uptight in my writing.  (“Geez isn’t this a personal blog. Who are you writing for anyways?”)

I really don’t know what to say to that. I feel like my voice comes through enough. Do you want me to use textspeak in everything I write or something? Should I be ranting away at my pathetic teenage life instead of trying to write something that’s slightly more mentally stimulating?

To be honest, I’ve already been noticing a strong apathy towards “serious” issues among society nowadays, myself included. It’s much easier to laugh at other people and our dumbed-down culture or to wallow in self-pity instead of noticing what’s actually going on in this world and creating something.

Even through this blog, posts about my life problems or are centered around visuals generally get more views than posts about more abstract ideas, showing what you guys actually prefer reading. Guess what? I decided a while ago that I’m not writing to appease you guys anymore; I’m writing for myself.  I put more effort into every  blog post than I do into most of my schoolwork, and I’ve been caring a lot more about school recently.

This is the only place where I can seriously discuss what’s on my mind with no restrictions. Most of these topics I’ll  never bring up in a normal conversation, (Can you picture me going up to people and asking them “What’s important in life?“) but that doesn’t mean those thoughts don’t exist in my head.

Perhaps my entire point of view is based around some egotistical belief that everything that I write is important when it’s probably a bunch of non-epiphanies and restatements of other peoples discoveries, but I’d appreciate it if you’d understand why I write how I write.

Thanks for reading,

Amy

4 thoughts on “To everyone who thinks I’m too “formal” on here…

    • Awww, thanks for the encouragement. I’m trying to tune out those people and just to keep writing what comes to mind for now, especially for this month.

      Like

  1. Write how you feel comfortable. I’m of the mind that when I write, I like to make sure it’s the sort of thing I would want to read. I don’t want to read text-speak and slang, so I omit those from my writing. I’m naturally a formal person – if that translates to my blog-self, I can only consider that a good thing because I’m staying true to myself. As for aspiring to something more stimulating… I don’t see how that’s a bad thing, ever. You are quite right that people tend to be apathetic towards the “serious” issues.

    Thanks for sharing :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

