Crocheted Fibonacci Scarf

Ah, summertime. The best time to be talking about scarves and math.

Through a series of Google searches a year ago, I found the scarf of my dreams designed by Diana Eng– a knitted Fibonacci Scarf.  I immediately fell in love. However, there was a slight problem. Three actually. 1) I didn’t care enough about fashion to buy a scarf 2) online, for 3) $275 that I don’t have.

The idea of a scarf that combined math and fashion with yarn was just too appealing though. Even if I couldn’t pay the near $300 price tag, with a little creativity, I figured I could crochet something similar

Presenting… my take on the Fibonacci Scarf!

IMG_3394

Explaining how the Fibonacci sequence is used in the scarf. Reference: On a sweater, each "v"is the same thing as a stitch.

Explaining how the Fibonacci sequence is used in the scarf. (Crash course: the Fibonacci sequence is 0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, etc. , where each term is the sum of the previous two terms)

Compared with Diana Eng’s scarf, this one is a lot smaller and not as detailed, (her scarf takes hundreds of hours to make by hand), but I like the lacey look. Also, I stopped at 8 in the Fibonacci sequence instead of 21, since I felt like the loops were getting too big. Nevertheless, it’s still a Fibonacci scarf that I’m proud of.

Due to the scarf’s hyperbolic nature, it tends to spiral around the short side when held by an end or when worn. Not something I foresaw when I was crocheting, but still pretty cool IMHO.

Anyways, here’s a few more pictures so you can marvel in the mathematical and visual aesthetics of this yarn creation.

IMG_3387

IMG_3412

IMG_3396

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In all seriousness though, I’m probably never going to wear this scarf, due to my lack of fashion sense and the un-coldness of Houston weather.  I might hang it in my room as a decoration, or sell it if anyone is willing to buy it (for significantly less than $275) What do you think?

11 thoughts on “Crocheted Fibonacci Scarf

      • I didn’t really use a formal pattern when making this, but this is basically what I did:

        Ch 100 (probably more, since I felt like the scarf was a bit short)
        Row 1: sc across
        Row 2: ch1, sc, repeat
        Row 3: ch1, sc IN LOOP (pick up the entire loop, not just the strand of yarn in the stitch), repeat, turn
        Row 4: ch 2, sc in loop, repeat, turn
        Row 5: ch 3, sc in loop, repeat, turn

        Just keep repeating this pattern with the Fibonacci numbers (1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, etc.) until you feel like the scarf is wide enough. I stopped at 8 because the loops were getting really big, but I used a 9mm hook, so the stitches should be tighter with a smaller hook. Tell me if you have any questions, and good luck with your scarf! Send me a picture when you finish– I’d love to see it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

