One year, fifty posts, and my old diaries.

Ignore the fact that my second post was a month later and that some of these posts aren’t written by me or are extremely short. I’ve still published 50 posts, and it’s still been a year.

One thing I can say is that it doesn’t feel like I’ve written 50 posts. I see my blog as a collection of individual times where I wanted to write a post, not as a greater whole. Similar to my post about time where I say that time is made up of a series of  “now”‘s and that we actually aren’t aware of time passing. (It doesn’t feel like a year either by the way.)

In terms of the blog, aside from switching from Blogspot to WordPress and multiple theme changes, not much has changed. Maybe I’ve gained a few followers, and I’ve written more about my own ideas and philosophies than other things, and I’ve stopped using as many pictures, and I’m starting to write slightly shorter posts, and I’ve gotten in a habit of making sure I have at least 2 posts published per month, and I’ve learned what’s popular and what’s not in terms of content and how to obsess over statistics. (I hope all those commas are placed correctly.) Yeah, other than that, not much.

And since we’re on the topic of one year, I’ll share another weirdly relevant part of my life.

 

The three and a half notebooks I filled in order from left to right (last one's still half empty) Unfortunately, I couldn't weave strings in through the loops after the second notebook.

The three and a half notebooks I filled in order from left to right (last one’s still half empty) Unfortunately, I couldn’t weave strings in through the loops after the second notebook.

For most of middle school, I kept a diary, which I wrote in religiously almost every day. I slacked a little in 8th grade and over the summer, but I have a near-complete record for 2011. Whenever I’m bored,  I look through my old diaries to see what happened “today”  a few years ago. I have an entry for 2010 “today” as well, but the 2011 one is slightly more interesting. Here it is.

Background information: This was the summer between 7th and 8th grade, and I was taking a few summer school classes for fun. The class I’m referring to here was about puzzles and basic cryptology. The bit about Mathcounts was referring to the state competition, the first time I was alone with friends overnight, and we made a bed fort. Never mind the fact that we placed the next day and beat our rival. The bed fort was the best part. These were the same people in the partitions and the quadratic equation story, and that affair happened exactly a week before the competition. Ok, I’ll shut up about Mathcounts now. Names are changed. Most of them. [Comments in brackets]

7/8/2011 Billy

I got to talk to him today. He’s…Billy-like…over-achieverish, energetic…

Like today. We were doing transposition ciphers, and Billy insisted on having me do this one (it turned out to be something like cotton candy pencil box…O.o) He was frantically grabbing my arm and like “SOLVE THIS!!!”

[kind of stalker info that probably shouldn’t be shared]

Just finished chatting with Emily…we were remeniscing [whoa I can’t spell] over Mathcounts. I miss it SO much.. we’re going back just for the bed fort. XD

Right…[something I don’t want to include] But now I feel bad for Emily…it’s not like it hurt me in anyway.  I feel so teenager-like right now…it’s obvious with my reaction with [something else I don’t want to include] Sigh…should I email [person] too? I lost my chain with Soma [LOLOL. Not true, I was just impatient waiting for the response] I MISS YOU [person]!!! “

Honestly, the entry is a little cringe-worthy and I’m not sure what was going on in the end, but I did write all of it.

This really makes me wonder how I’ll view my blog a few years from now. Will it seem shallow and teenager-y and an fail attempt for me to be cool, or will it just be something I did, no opinions attached?

Writing in a journal is different than a blog though, since I can edit a blog post as many times as I want, but once I handwrite something, it can’t be easily changed. All I can say is,  I’ve haven’t looked back on many things favorably before. Except for maybe that bed fort.

That’s all I have to say for now. Here’s to another year of blogging!

5 thoughts on “One year, fifty posts, and my old diaries.

  1. WOAH THIS IS EXACTLY HOW I FEEL ABOUT MY PREVIOUS JOURNALS. hehehe i was mentioned in this >:D seriously though. i look back at my diary entries and i’m like….why was i such a freak. glad i’m not alone :)

    Like

    • AT LEAST YOU AREN’T POSTING THEM ONLINE. But yeah, I don’t know what the point of a diary is if not to embarrass ourselves in the future. :

      Like

  2. Pingback: What’s Important? | afanofideas

  3. Pingback: this post is so meta, even this acronym (more writing about writing) | Educated Opinions

  4. Pingback: Letting go of Writing | Educated Opinions

Leave a Reply

