Google Doesn’t Have All the Answers

It’s almost midnight, and I’m in a state of desperation, trying to read a textbook chapter that I may or may not remember the next morning for a test. “Crazy” by Simple Plan is softly blasting through my headphones, as the internet keeps distracting me from what I’m supposed to be doing.  The lyrics circulate through my head, and my mind unconsciously agrees with them. Can someone tell me what’s going wrong, tell me what’s going on, if you open your eyes, then you will see that something is wrong.

Nothing seems to process in my head, and I’m wondering what the heck I’m doing. My fingers float onto the keyboard and instinctively open another tab on Chrome, distracting me from my textbook pages once again. (Who needs to read about the significance of each island in Indonesia anyways?)

But I don’t know what to do. I’ve checked all my social media and used up all my distraction sites already. The textbook has no meaning to me, yet it’s the only thing keeping me awake.

The allure of the bright screen draws me in, the lights stimulating my eyes, as I blankly stare at the “New Tab” What am I trying to do?

My fingers slowly press a familiar combination of letters. Google.com.  And then the enter button. The page quickly loads, and the cursor below the multi-colored Google logo blinks at me invitingly. Now what?

That’s when I realize that I’m stuck. What can Google do for me? The company that has given me countless homework answers, that has answered random questions I had with thousands of responses, that has been my go-to for anything and everything, can’t help me now.

My situation can’t be answered through an enter and search function. In fact, I’m not even sure what the question is, or what I’m trying to figure out. Why am I even at Google?

All that I know is that it’s past midnight already, and I’m supposed to be studying for a test, and that it’s not going well.

14 thoughts on “Google Doesn’t Have All the Answers

      • D’: *the tears be rollin’ down my face* is my misery truly the source of your sustenance?
        SHALL I SIMPLY KILL MYSELF SO YOU ARE IMMORTALIZED? (dont worry. i definitely dont have suicidal thoughts)

        Like

      • D: I HAVE ALSO BEEN CATEGORIZED WITH KAREN? AS MY PURPOSE IN LIFE BECOMES CLEARER TO ME I GROW UNHAPPIER. OH AMY, MY SOLE PURPOSE IN LIFE NOW, WHY DOST THOU MAKEST LIFE SO MISERABLE?

        Like

      • *tears* i shall embrace my sole purpose in life with utmost enthusiasm now. i can see the happiness oozing out of your every word. your commas literally exude ebullience. i am completing my purpose *sense of empowerment*

        Like

  1. Pingback: Late-Night Semi-Daoist Thoughts | afanofideas

  2. Pingback: How to (not) Focus | Educated Opinions

  3. Pingback: Back to school | Educated Opinions

Leave a Reply

