Antisocial

Yesterday, one of my friends told me that I was antisocial and that she didn’t want to hang out with me anymore. Ouch.

Ok, I’ll admit, I’m not the most social person. I spend more time than I should writing to an Internet that has a doubtful number of readers, and most of my days are spent at home. Maybe I’m not even that social. But anti-social? Seriously?

And the reason I was called anti-social was because I refused to go to the movies  Aside from the fact that I don’t even like watching movies (books are so much more superior), I seriously don’t get how mutually staring at a screen with someone is “social.” You can’t even talk if you want to. Isn’t going to the movies essentially the “social” way of being antisocial? (or the antisocial way of being social? Which way is it?)

After telling this to my friend, she explained that the social aspect of going to the movies isn’t actually watching it; it’s what happens before and afterwards. Waiting for people to come, talking with the people who have arrived, and raving over the movie once it’s over. Which is a valid point, but wouldn’t any other place work as well? Why the movies where most of the time is spent passively looking at a screen?

I guess this isn’t an opinion commonly shared, but I just felt like writing that. I don’t really mind any other “social” event; it’s just going to the movies that bothers me. Sadly though, everyone seems to want to go to the movies these days.

And let me just say this about my friend in case she uh, reads this (even though she refuses to read my blog when I specifically ask, so I’m counting on that), and also for any of you that care: Most of the time she’s a fluffy happy friend who’s extremely ticklish, but if I ever need someone to tell me the brutally honest truth, it’s her.

So maybe I am slightly anti-social and should get out of the house more often, but I just refuse to believe it and stay in denial. What do you think?

6 thoughts on “Antisocial

  1. Pingback: What is wrong with me? | afanofideas

Leave a Reply

